Skip to main content

Community Mental Health Centers (CMHCs)

Texting on the phoneCMHCs are designated by the Department of Human Services to provide mental health services for individuals of all ages regardless of funding. Each CMHC is designated to serve a specific area and are required to serve the following Iowans in their area:

    • Anyone experiencing a mental health crisis or have a mental health disorder
    • Adults with a serious mental illness or chronic mental illness
    • Children and youth with a serious emotional disturbance
    • Any of the above who have a co-occurring disorder, including but not limited to substance abuse, intellectual disability, a developmental disability, brain injury, autism spectrum disorder, or another disability or special health care need

CMHCs provide the following services:

    • Outpatient services
    • Twenty-four hour emergency services
    • Day treatment, partial hospitalization, or psychosocial rehabilitation services
    • Community support services
    • Consultation services
    • Education services

Click here to find your local CMHC.